Skip to content

Alumnus Derek Connolly Wins 2013 Spirit Award for "Safety Not Guaranteed"

Derek Connolly '98 (BFA, Kanbar, F&TV)

On February 23rd, the Spirit Awards brought together talent from independent film and Hollywood. Trophies were presented for the year’s best achievements in independent film, with statues awarded for Best Feature, Best First Feature, and many more.

Kanbar alumnus Derek Connolly '98 (BFA, Kanbar, F&TV) was lauded with the award for Best First Screenplay for Safety Not Guaranteed. Connolly was awarded the Waldo Scott Screenwriting Award for the same film at the 2012 Sundance Film Festival. Connolly teamed up with alumnus Colin Trevorrow '99 (BFA, Kanbar, F&TV) who directed the film.

The Spirit Awards takes place each year inside a beachfront tent in Santa Monica. Winners are chosen by Film Independent members, past Spirit Award nominees and winners and active IFP members. Voting members attend nominee screenings and view select nominated films through a screening program before choosing the Spirit Award winners.