Skip to content

2012 Drama Desk Nominees

On April 27, 2012, nominations for the 57th Annual Drama Desk Awards were announced at a news conference by Drama Desk winners Donna Murphy (BFA, Drama) and Brian d’Arcy James. The 57th Annual Drama Desk Awards will take place on Sunday, June 3, 2012 at 8:00 PM at The Town Hall in Manhattan. In keeping with the Drama Desk's mission, nominators considered shows that opened on Broadway, Off Broadway and Off-Off Broadway during the 2011-2012 New York theater season in the same competitive categories. The Board also decided to eliminate the category of Orchestrations.

And, the Tisch nominees are...

Outstanding Play
Itamar Moses '03 (MFA, Dramatic Writing), Completeness

Outstanding Musical
Leap of Faith, Melissa Pinsly '06 (BFA, Drama), Celine Rosenthal '06 (BFA, Drama), and Dean's Council Member Daryl Roth, producers

Outstanding Revival of a Play
Arthur Miller's Death of a Salesman, Dean's Council Member Scott Rudin, producer

Outstanding Revival of a Musical
Carrie, Bernard Telsey '82 (BFA, Drama), Artistic Director, MCC Theater
Evita, Adam S. Gordon '89 (BFA, Kanbar F&TV), producer

Outstanding Actor in a Play
Joseph Franchini '80 (BFA, Drama), The Navigator
Phillip Seymour Hoffman '89 (BFA, Drama), Arthur Miller's Death of a Salesman

Outstanding Actor in a Musical
Raul Esparza '92 (BFA, Drama), Leap of Faith

Outstanding Actress in a Musical
Molly Ranson '12 (Drama), Carrie

Outstanding Set Design
Roger Hanna '91 (MFA, Design), A Little Journey

Outstanding Costume Design
Gregg Barnes '83 (BFA), Follies
Jessica Pabst '04 (BFA, Drama), She Kills Monsters
Martin Pakledinaz, adjunct faculty (Design), Nice Work If You Can Get It

Outstanding Lighting Design
David Lander '91 (MFA, Design), One Arm

Outstanding Solo Performance
Stephen Spinella '82 (MFA, Acting), An Iliad

Unique Theatrical Experience
Gob Squad's Kitchen (You've Never Had It So Good), professor Oskar Eustis, Artistic Director, The Public Theater