Skip to content

2012 Drama League Nominees

First awarded in 1922 and formalized in 1935, The Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America. They are the only major theatergoer awards chosen by audience members – specifically, by the thousands of Drama League members nationwide who attend Broadway and off-Broadway productions. The Drama League Awards honor distinguished productions, performances, and exemplary career achievements in musical theatre and directing. The 78th Annual Drama League Awards will be held on Friday, May 18, 2012.

The following nominees are from the NYU Tisch community:

Distinguished Production of a Play
Clybourne Park, Dean's Council Member Daryl Roth, producer
The Intelligent Homosexual's Guide to Capitalism and Socialism with a Key to the Scriptures, professor Oskar Eustis, Artistic Director, The Public Theater
One Man, Two Guvnors, Dean's Council Members Daryl Roth, Scott Rudin, producers
Peter and the Starcatcher, Adam S. Gordon '89 (BFA, Kanbar F&TV), producer

Distinguished Revival of a Play
Death of a Salesman, Dean's Council Member Scott Rudin, producer
How I Learned to Drive, Carole Rothman '72 (MFA, Directing), Artistic Director, Second Stage Theatre

Distinguished Production of a Musical
Leap of Faith, Melissa Pinsly '06 (BFA, Drama), Celine Rosenthal '06 (BFA, Drama), and Dean's Council Member Daryl Roth, producers
Mission Drift, Rachel Chavkin '02 (BFA, Drama), Founding Artistic Director, The TEAM

Distinguished Revival of a Musical
Carrie, Bernard Telsey '82 (BFA, Drama), Artistic Director, MCC Theater
Evita, Adam S. Gordon '89 (BFA, Kanbar F&TV), producer

Distinguished Performance Award
Nina Arianda '09 (MFA, Acting), Venus in Fur
Heather Christian '04 (BFA, Drama), Mission Drift
Raul Esparza '92 (BFA, Drama), Leap of Faith
Phillip Seymour Hoffman '89 (BFA, Drama), Arthur Miller's Death of a Salesman
Steve Kazee '05 (MFA, Acting), Once
Cristin Milioti '07 (Drama), Once
Stephen Spinella '82 (MFA, Acting), An Iliad